Elections & Voting

2020 Schedule of Federal/State/Municipal Elections

General Election is Tuesday, November 3rd, 2020, 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

All voting will take place at the New Balance Field House & Memorial Gym on the UMaine Campus. Click here for directions

Absentee Ballot Information

View Sample Ballots here

Making your plan to vote in the November 3 General Election, from Maine Department of the Secretary of State 

Interested in volunteering for the Town of Orono for the upcoming Election?
Fill out the form at this link and return it to the mail slot outside the Town Office at 59 Main Street or email it to Town Clerk Shelly Crosby

Maine Political Parties

Maine currently has three qualified parties: Democratic, Green Independent and Republican that may participate in primary elections. (Note: although some unenrolled candidates choose to designate themselves as "Independent," there is no "Independent" party in Maine.)

Orono Street List

November 3, 2020 

General (Presidential) and Potential State Referendum Election

Held at New Balance (UMAINE campus) Field House & Memorial Gym

The General Election is held nationally on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November. In 2020, Maine voters will select their choice for President and Vice President (this process is called the popular vote), and elect one of Maine’s two United States Senators, Maine’s Representatives to Congress, members of the Maine Legislature, and certain county officers, 

Each party’s nomination for President and Vice President of the United States, party candidates who are nominated as a result of the June Primary Election, and unenrolled candidates will appear on the General Election ballot. 

The actual election of President Vice President occurs through the Electoral College. The "popular vote" is used to choose Maine’s 4 "electors", who convene at what is called the "Electoral College" at the State House in December to cast their "electoral votes." 

Past Election Information

UPDATE APRIL 10, 2020 - Governor Mills Issues Executive Order Moving Primary Election to July 14th

As Maine implements strategies to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, Governor Janet Mills signed an Executive Order moving Maine’s primary election from Tuesday, June 9, 2020 to Tuesday, July 14, 2020. The Order, which is effective immediately, also allows applications for absentee ballots to be made in writing or in person, without specifying a reason, up to and including the day of the election. It also extends the deadline for qualifying contributions under the Maine Clean Election Act to May 19, 2020. The delay in the primary election will provide additional time for Maine people to request absentee ballots in order to minimize in-person interaction at the polls and will allow the Secretary of State’s Office additional time to develop guidelines to help municipalities conduct in-person voting in as safe a manner as possible.

View Governor Mills’ Executive Order here

July 14, 2020

State Primary Election

Held at Orono Council Chambers, 59 Main Street

State Primary Sample Ballot and Related Documents

RSU26 Budget Referendum Election Sample Ballot

Primary Elections determine each qualified party’s nomination of candidates for federal offices (other than President) and qualified State and County offices. Party candidates who are elected at the Primary qualify to appear on the November General Election ballot. 

Offices included in the 2020 Primary Election are United States Senator, Representative to Congress (both districts), all 35 State Senate districts, all 151 State Representative districts, and the following county offices, which vary depending on the county: Judge of Probate, Register of Probate, County Treasurer, Register of Deeds, Sheriff, District Attorney and County Commissioner. 

In order to qualify for the Primary Election ballot, party candidates must gather a specified number of signatures on primary nomination petitions between January 1, 2020 and March 16, 2020 and must submit these petitions to the Secretary of State’s Division of Elections by 5:00 p.m. on March 16, 2020. 

Nonparty candidates gain access directly to the General Election ballot by gathering a specified number of signatures on nonparty nomination petitions between January 1, 2020 and June 1, 2020 and must submit these petitions to the Division of Elections by 5:00 pm on June 1, 2020. 


The State Primary and Special Referendum Election is Tuesday, July 14. 

At this time, both in-person and absentee voting are available for the July 14 election. 

For the Town of Orono, in-person voting will take place at the Orono Town Council Chambers, 59 Main Street, 7AM until 8PM. 

Voters may cast an absentee ballot instead of voting in person. To minimize interaction with others during this public health pandemic (COVID-19), some voters may prefer voting by absentee ballot. Casting an absentee ballot is convenient and secure. 

Absentee ballots may be requested in writing, by phone, online, or in person up to and including the day of the election, without specifying a reason.  However, if you are asking to receive your ballot by mail, please request it early enough to allow for postal mail delivery time – both to receive it and return it (2-5 days each way).

  • You can request an absentee ballot by calling the Town Office at 207-866-2556 

  • You can request an absentee ballot online or by mail from the Secretary of State’s website: https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/AbsenteeBallot/online-form.pl

  • Absentee ballot requests are being accepted right now. Printed ballots will be available by mid-June, and we will issue your ballot as soon as possible after that date.  

  • Ballots must be returned to the municipal clerk no later than 8:00 pm on Election Day.

  • Ballot return envelopes require 70 cents postage, please remember to add required postage when mailing back your ballot.

For additional absentee voting information go to: https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/elec/voter-info/absenteeguide.html


250' Electioneering Boundaries for Town of Orono Polling Places

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19